ECI People


John Fotherby – ECI Chair
Chairman, Kingsfield Consulting
John Fotherby has kindly accepted the appointment to fulfil the role of ECI Chair following Taco de Haan’s appointment to further senior positions within the Fluor Corporation.  John has had over 40 years in the process industries and currently has an influential role advising senior executives and their project teams involved in international engineering and construction projects; assisting them in managing project risk and the delivery of commercially successful projects.

Currently working across all continents his organization is at the forefront of project management techniques with a unique understanding of contract and team management best practices.

Taco de Haan – Immediate past ECI Chair (2014 to 2017)
CEO of Stork, a Fluor company

During his time as ECI chair Taco brought leadership and inspiration to the ECI.  Through creative initiatives he set the pattern for ECI’s continuing development as the organisation representing the supply chain in engineering construction in Europe.

Taco-de-Haan-photoSince joining Fluor in 1995, he has held positions of increasing responsibility in engineering, project management, site management, office general management and regional executive management.

In 2016 Taco was appointed  CEO of Stork, a Fluor company.  Stork is a global provider of knowledge-based maintenance, modification and asset integrity (MM&AI) products and services, delivering integrated solutions covering the full asset life cycle.



Alistair Gibb – ECI Director
Tel: +44 (0)1509 223097

AlistairAlistair is the ECI Royal Academy of Engineering Professor of complex project management and is responsible for knowledge creation and best practice assimilation within and on behalf of ECI across the European organisation.

Alistair is a Chartered Engineer and Chartered Builder. He joined Loughborough University in 1993 following a career in civil engineering and construction management, especially in complex projects.

He has been closely involved with ECI since the mid-1990s, mainly as Project Director of the Safety, Health & Environment Task Force. Internationally he is coordinator of the Conseil Internationale de Batiment (CIB) working commission on construction health & safety. He has led many health and safety research projects funded both by UK and US Governments and industry. He also has an impressive research track record in technical innovation – particularly in offsite construction. He is a founding member of the influential UK industry body Buildoffsite and has led several overseas trade missions.


Andrew Callison – ECI Manager
Tel: +44 (0)1509 228785
AndrewAndrew-callison-pic is the ECI Manager and is responsible for the day to day operations management of the ECI.

Andrew is the newest member of staff, having joined the ECI in November 2015. Andrew previously worked in the manufacturing sector as a Senior Engineering Manager and Senior Project Manager specialising in projects within food/drink and pharmaceutical industries.  He is currently working towards a Master’s degree in Industrial Project Management and Chartered status for project management.

During his career he has developed vast experience in delivering both major retro-fit and new build capital projects from the design phase through construction, and the development & implementation of asset care engineering/process improvements programmes.

Anu Khandelwal – ECI Marketing and Events
Tel: +44 (0)1509 228797anu
Anu is ECI’s longest standing member of staff and provides a vital role in facilitating the on-going activities of the Institute by conducting ECI’s marketing duties, including the production of ECI workshop, conference and Task Force material, together with the development of ECI’s website and publications. Anu has a background in marketing, design and event management.




  • Ed Wilson
    Ed has had a distinguished career in the process and energy industries and recently retired from his position as CEO of project management and engineering consultancy CEL, now WSP CEL. Ed is a valued consultant for ECI providing input into on-going ECI activities and initiatives and offering both an operational and strategic perspective.
  • Clive Winkler
    Clive is a Chartered Engineer with over 35 years’ experience in mainstream heavy civil engineering and tunnelling, subsequently establishing himself as an independent practitioner implementing best practice management themes and collaborative working. He has supported ECI since 2006 in coordinating workshops, events and the alignment of activities with the Benelux and Italian regions.


The European Executive Board is responsible for strategy, operational activities, providing leadership direction, finances and constitutional matters.

Taco de Haan (Immediate past chairman 2014 to 2017)
ECI Immediate past Chair and CEO of Stork,
Taco is Fluor Corporation’s President for the Energy & Chemicals (E&C) Business Unit in the Europe, Africa and Middle-East (EAME) region, with responsibility for Oil, Gas and Chemicals capital projects. In his initial address to ECI’s European Executive Board, Taco expressed his desire to continue to support the development of the industry through ECI, and ensure that as a region, Europe is best-positioned to compete with the major players in engineering construction markets worldwide.

John Oliver (past ECI Chairman 2010 to 2014)
(past ECI Chair) and Director, Sellafield Ltd
John is currently Director of Sellafield Ltd. During his 25 year career he has delivered major projects in a variety of sectors and has worked for BP, Dynegy and Enron. He has been involved in the origination, development, delivery and assessment of a range of large-scale capital projects.

ECI European Executive Board members:

  • John Fotherby (Chairman), Kingsfield Consulting
  • Taco de Haan, Stork
  • John Oliver, Sellafield Ltd
  • Pat Woodcock, AMEC Foster Wheeler
  • Jan Broekman, CB&I
  • Alistair Gibb, ECI
  • Andrew Callison, ECI
  • Clive Winkler, ECI
  • Ed Wilson, ECI
  • Andy Brown, ECITB
  • Rick Donehoo, Fluor
  • Enzo Caetani, Keyst1 Italy Srl / Geotecnica
  • John Dyson, GlaxoSmithKline
  • Tony Thorpe, Loughborough University
  • Frank von Willert, McKinsey & Co
  • Paul van Weert, Shell
  • Luigi Anselmi, Tecnimont
  • Alistair Kennedy, WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff